Remove goals you no longer track to keep reporting focused.
Streamline your reporting by removing goals you no longer need — this keeps analysis clear, relevant, and easier to act on.
Important
Deleted goals are permanently removed from your site and cannot be restored.
How to delete a goal from the Goals page
Goals on the Goals page are shared between Analyze and Optimize. You can't delete a goal that's added to an unarchived optimization. To delete it, either archive all optimizations using the goal, or remove the goal from those optimizations.
To delete a goal from the Goals page:
- Go to Insights tab > Goals
- Click the Options icon to the right of the goal
- Click Delete > Delete
Removing a goal from an optimization
Before you get started
- An optimization must always have at least one goal
- Site goals can't be deleted from individual optimizations
- The goal currently set as the target goal and the AutoGoal can't be deleted
How to remove a Goals page goal from an optimization
This is how to remove a reusable goal you’ve added to an optimization.
While editing an optimization:
- Click the Optimizations dropdown > Goals & settings
- Hover over a goal and click the Options icon
- Click Remove goal
How to delete an optimization goal
This is how to delete a temporary goal you created within an optimization.
While editing an optimization:
- Click the Optimizations dropdown > Goals & settings
- Hover over a goal and click the Options icon
- Click Delete > Delete