Learn how to create, edit, delete, and assign custom roles.
Note
Custom roles are available for Enterprise customers and partners.
Custom roles let you build tailor-made roles to meet the needs of your team. Select a base role (e.g., Designer), then choose any additional permissions you want to add. Selecting a base role doesn’t select any of the permissions shown in the additional permissions list.
For example, you might have a junior designer who needs to publish a site to staging for test purposes, but shouldn’t be allowed to publish to production. Or, you might have a content editor who should only be able to publish CMS items to production, but not the entire site. Maybe you have a growth marketer whose changes should always be approved before going live.
You can use custom roles for these scenarios and other combinations of responsibilities and permissions.
About building a custom role
First, you’ll pick a base role. The base role is a set of permissions that act as the foundation for your custom role. Each subsequent base role includes the permissions from the previous role.
-
Reviewer — review designs and leave comments
-
Content editor — make changes to text, images, and CMS items
-
Marketer — build pages with pre-designed components
-
Designer — design with classes, components, and interactions
Next, you can optionally turn on additional permissions for the custom role.
Note
All additional permissions start turned off. A checkmark in the following table means the permission is available for that base role — it doesn’t mean the permission is enabled by default.
| Permission available |
Reviewer |
Content editor |
Marketer |
Designer |
| Publishing (full site) |
| Publish site to production |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Publish site to staging |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Publish CMS items to production |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Queue CMS items for publish |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Publishing (individual pages) |
| Publish single page to production |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Publish single page to staging |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Build & review |
| Approve changes |
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Edit global content inside of components |
|
✅ |
✅ |
|
| Create new pages without a template |
|
|
✅ |
|
| Make changes without approval |
|
|
✅ |
✅ |
| Manage variables |
|
|
|
✅ |
| Modify classes |
|
|
|
✅ |
| Manage components |
|
|
|
✅ |
| AI |
| Use Webflow AI |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
| Site management |
| Manage site settings |
|
✅ |
✅ |
✅ |
Once a custom role is saved, you can assign it to existing team members and during the invite process.
Note
The Use Webflow AI permission lets team members
use AI to make changes across a site within their role limits. It’s
available on the Content editor, Marketer, and Designer base roles.
Like every additional permission, it starts turned off.
How to create a new custom role
Consider what permissions each team member might need to accomplish their day-to-day tasks, then create custom roles that purposefully target those needs. Workspace owners and admins can create up to 20 custom roles. Delete unused custom roles to reduce clutter from the role assignment list.
Make sure custom roles have meaningful names and descriptions that are easily understood by everyone on your team, as they’ll appear throughout the interface (e.g., site access pages and invite flows).
From the dashboard:
- Go to Settings > Team > Roles
- Click Create custom role
- Enter a Role title (required)
- Enter a Description (required)
- Choose a base role (e.g., Marketer)
- Choose additional permissions you want to add
- Click Create
How to edit a custom role
Note
Changes made to a custom role are applied to any team members already assigned that role.
From the dashboard:
- Go to Settings > Team > Roles
- Click the Options icon to the right of a custom role
- Click Edit role
- Make your desired changes
- Click Save
How to delete a custom role
A custom role can’t be deleted if it’s currently assigned to a team member at the site level. If a team member is assigned a custom role you want to delete, first assign them a different role.
From the dashboard:
- Go to Settings > Team > Roles
- Click the Options icon to the right of a custom role
- Click Delete role > Delete role
How to assign a custom role
How to assign a custom role at the workspace level
- Go to Settings > Team > Users
- Click the Role dropdown for a member
- Choose their new role
- Click Update role
How to assign a custom role at the site level
Learn how to add a team member to a site and set their site role. To update a team member’s role:
- Go to Site settings > Site access
- Choose a Site role for a listed team member
Custom roles replace Enterprise-specific roles and publishing toggle
The previously available limited designer role, designer (needs approval) role, and Can publish permission toggle are replaced by custom roles.
If your Workspace leveraged those roles or toggle, new custom roles will be automatically created that match those permissions and assigned to applicable team members. Team members that are automatically assigned a custom role will experience no interruption or visible changes to their workflow. Going forward, you can further tailor each role to fit your exact needs.
These permissions are configured for the limited designer and designer (needs approval) custom roles:
| Permission configured |
Limited designer: Designer base role |
Designer (needs approval): Designer base role |
| Publish CMS items to production |
☑️ |
|
| Make changes without approval |
☑️ |
|
| Modify classes |
|
☑️ |
| Manage components |
|
☑️ |
Feedback is welcomed
Custom roles will be enhanced and expanded upon as we release new features with new permissions. If you’d like to see additional permission options added, reach out to your customer success manager to share your feedback!